Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Feb 19, 2014
3352 posts
2339 upvotes
Langley

What would you do with 200,000 AMEX Membership Rewards Points

I have about 200k AMEX MR points and my card is coming up for renewal in Feb 2016.

I don't use the AMEX as much anymore since I got my BMO Mastercard, so i'm thinking of getting rid of my AMEX since I don't want to pay the $150 annual fee.

Some other travel info:
I have about 150k Aeroplan points.
I will be planning an Asia or Europe trip in 2017 with my wife. What would be the best allocation of the AMEX MR points?

Thank you!
17 replies
Deal Fanatic
Feb 15, 2006
9183 posts
3861 upvotes
Toronto
You can transfer 1-1 Amex to aeropeso.

You can redeem for GC.

You can book travel and pay with those Amex points.

There are others, can look into their reward offering details to find out.
Apr 5, 2009
948 posts
334 upvotes
Toronto
You can sign up for another card of the same type and keep your points until you are ready to book your trip and know where you want to transfer them, since they have so many choices of airline and hotel programs to transfer to.

For example, you can sign up for the Business Gold Rewards card (self refer and get 10,000 points for doing nothing), fill out your existing card number on the application, and your two accounts will be linked. You can then cancel the old card and keep the new one for another year (it's FYF). Your points will be saved! If you are willing to give that new Amex card some use, the referral application is eligible for additional 40K points if you spend $5K on it in 3 months.
Deal Fanatic
Oct 23, 2006
5313 posts
2518 upvotes
Winnipeg
jellytime wrote: I have about 200k AMEX MR points and my card is coming up for renewal in Feb 2016.

I don't use the AMEX as much anymore since I got my BMO Mastercard, so i'm thinking of getting rid of my AMEX since I don't want to pay the $150 annual fee.

Some other travel info: