• Sep 11th, 2017 10:04 am
Tags:
[OP]
Mar 17, 2015
92 posts
9 upvotes
North York, ON

What was your OSAP when you graduated ?

What was your OSAP when you graduated Uni/College?
19 replies
Sep 2, 2017
25 posts
20 upvotes
about $7500 total for 2 years worth ( i went to college )
Deal Addict
Sep 2, 2008
1280 posts
42 upvotes
just an advice, if you can, PAY OFF OSAP asap. I graduated in 2013 and had about 10k left to pay. I was paying about 150 per month and in 2016 when i called and asked how much was left, they told me i still had 9k to pay. So after 2 years i only paid 1000. I asked WTF to which they said my interest was about 600-700 per year which was 1/3 of what i was paying. I told them to go and f**k themselves and paid whole amount. This OSAP is total bullsh.t
Deal Addict
Mar 23, 2008
4103 posts
1850 upvotes
Edmonton
AndrewShev wrote:
Sep 8th, 2017 3:32 pm
just an advice, if you can, PAY OFF OSAP asap. I graduated in 2013 and had about 10k left to pay. I was paying about 150 per month and in 2016 when i called and asked how much was left, they told me i still had 9k to pay. So after 2 years i only paid 1000. I asked WTF to which they said my interest was about 600-700 per year which was 1/3 of what i was paying. I told them to go and f**k themselves and paid whole amount. This OSAP is total bullsh.t
Hmmm... Many people who graduated with a degree would be able to do the math to figure out that paying $150/month on a 10k loan is kinda like paying the minimum amount on your credit card. Or they'd check their statements which are probably sent to them every year, and recognize that they're mostly just paying interest.

All you had to do was increase your monthly payments, and anything extra you paid above that $150 would have gone directly to paying down the principal. Not sure why the anger towards the system that gave you a low-cost loan to help you get a degree (plus probably a bunch of free grants, etc)...

C
Feb 16, 2013
434 posts
492 upvotes
Toronto