Students

Where are the best combined degree PhD in Science + smth else

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 2nd, 2014 1:02 pm
Tags:
Jan 30, 2010
38 posts

Where are the best combined degree PhD in Science + smth else

I finished my Master in Medicine (Biochem) last year and now I'm about to start my PhD in Molecular Biology. Before I apply to schools for a PhD, I'm interested in knowing people's opinion about the best combined degrees out there in Canada or in the US (I'm bilingual Korean/English and could consider Korea as well.. though it isn't on the top of my list). I have a good academic record and can afford to go anywhere, so really the school doesn't matter, I'm interested in the type of education/career I can get out of it.

I've looked at JD/PhD programs though since my PhD will be in science, it seems they only accept PhD students in law-related major. I'm interested in Business, Law, though NOT medicine, so forget about MD/PhD, that isn't for me. Can anyone recommend me a school that according to you offers good combined degree for PhD candidates in science.

I'm thinking mainly of
- MBA / PhD
- JD / PhD

Any other suggestions are welcome :cheesygri
6 replies
Deal Addict
Apr 6, 2008
2492 posts
390 upvotes
Toronto
i would say you're wasting your time with a PhD, you sound like you're going to school for the letters after your name rather than a specific purpose

for all intents and purposes an MSc is enough "proof" that you have knowledge in that field to combine with the MBA or JD, or you can do JD/MBA

since the phD is ultimately going to be only complementary to what you're going to actually do (business or law), it's not worth the 4 years of lost income
Deal Addict
Aug 9, 2011
2052 posts
409 upvotes
GTA
medalgo wrote: i would say you're wasting your time with a PhD, you sound like you're going to school for the letters after your name rather than a specific purpose