Tags:
None
[OP]
Aug 10, 2006
975 posts
10 upvotes
Toronto

Where To Bring In Bell Fiber Into Home?

Bell is coming to put fiber into our home. I’ve seen homes in the area with wires running along the exterior side of the home and then brought in to a hole drilled in from the side. It looks like an eyesore to me.

Is this just the standard way this is brought in or is there a cleaner way this can be done without exposed wires?
11 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 29, 2006
3693 posts
532 upvotes
We brought ours into the garage then into the basement
Deal Addict
Jun 21, 2003
2335 posts
328 upvotes
Stoney Creek, ON
If you have a chance to watch over them during install I highly recommend it. I am an electrician and used to do a lot of repair work as a result of those technicians. They don't check both sides of the wall before drilling in to your home. I've replaced entire breaker panels that were drilled straight through, too many wires to count for various house circuits and even service masts drilled through.

I can guarantee they will do a bad and ugly job. They are only concerned with speed and 100% of the time they take the path of least resistance. It always looks horrible and amateur.
Nov 30, 2015
233 posts
94 upvotes
GTA, ON
I find that some technicians are reasonable and flexible and may be willing to meet your requirements if you are willing to offer help and if access for the cable run is not too restricted like a finished basement. The norm is to run the wiring/fiber cable outside along the wall. And that's true for both Bell and Rogers. And it's ugly.