• Last Updated:
  • Apr 9th, 2010 10:10 pm
Jan 10, 2009
6 posts
9 upvotes
Niagara Falls

Why did you Choose Accounting?

Hello,

I am a University student currently in the CA designation, and I am just wondering from professionals or students in training why they decided to become an accountant?

Thanks.

Jesse
61 replies
Deal Guru
Nov 15, 2004
12578 posts
903 upvotes
Toronto
I'm good at it, it's secure, and I don't mind doing it one way or the other, so it's the perfect job. If I had chosen to take a job in the field of something I do as a hobby I'd probably end up hating it by now due to it being work.
Deal Addict
Oct 25, 2008
2138 posts
185 upvotes
When I was a junior accountant in a small NPO, I realized that accounting is not just about boring numbers - it's also about one's ability to problem solve, communicate, and I was able to be part of their operations team to implement changes and policies. Maybe this was only possible due to the small size of the company - but nonetheless, when you look at the "big picture", accounting is an interesting field!
Banned
Feb 25, 2010
186 posts
Toronto
I think the CGA designation gives you exposure to different businesses rather than just working in public accounting before qualification but at the same time the opportunity to be granted a public accounting licence as long as enough audit hours have been accumulated.
Deal Fanatic
Apr 15, 2004
5430 posts
66 upvotes
Toronto
I hope no one chose it for the money, because it's a very boring profession. The promises made by your associations are empty.
Deal Addict
Sep 23, 2007
3967 posts
585 upvotes
I chose it because I like working with money. The knowledge is relatively practical. What you learn in accounting can help you build better financial senses, better manage your taxes, and will certainly help if you decide to start a business.