Food & Drink

Why does restaurant rice taste better than home-cooked rice?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 11th, 2020 11:22 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
May 22, 2003
4119 posts
1765 upvotes
Vancouver

Why does restaurant rice taste better than home-cooked rice?

I find that Chinese-restaurant rice always seem to be more fragrant than my home-cooked rice. Using Costco jasmine rice in a Zojirushi cooker. Do they add something to it or use a specific type of rice that lends it more fragrance?
12 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 10, 2015
1576 posts
435 upvotes
St. Catharines, ON
I'm no expert, but typically, to make food more delicious, you add more fat, salt, or sugar. I'm thinking salt might be applicable here.
Deal Fanatic
Dec 28, 2007
6692 posts
3104 upvotes
Alberta
For nearly all Chinese restaurants, they use MSG as a flavour enhancer. Even when they advertise that they don't add it, it's usually already in the ingredients they use.
Deal Addict
Sep 19, 2002
2994 posts
1582 upvotes
Vancouver
I find the opposite - restaurant rice quality is terrible. It's dry and flavorless.

Use Ox Head rice.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2006
26034 posts
11485 upvotes
jackrabbit000 wrote: For nearly all Chinese restaurants, they use MSG as a flavour enhancer. Even when they advertise that they don't add it, it's usually already in the ingredients they use.
That's not just Chinese restaurants. Every restaurant uses MSG in some form because it's damn delicious.

Guess what Parmesan cheese is? MSG in cheese form.
Deal Addict
Apr 8, 2006
1930 posts
686 upvotes
you probably do not have good rice. I haven't found good tasting restaurant rice in asian restaurant. Middle east and Indian rice are much better with added spices.
Any man who tells you he enjoys a cold shower will lie about other things

Ronald Reagan
Sep 3, 2018
181 posts
115 upvotes
Spinner wrote: I find the opposite - restaurant rice quality is terrible. It's dry and flavorless.

Use Ox Head rice.