Tags:
None
[OP]
Feb 17, 2013
219 posts
76 upvotes
Newmarket, ON

Why one need a $600 tripod??

Sorry I am a NOOB but there are tripod available for 50-60 bucks that can do the job then why spend more. how one can justify the cost. Kindly shed some light on it.
24 replies
Deal Expert
Jun 9, 2003
24259 posts
1517 upvotes
Markham, ON
cause a high end camera is thousands of dollars....add a thousand of $ in lens...why use a non-sturdy tripod?

Yes a crappy tripod will blow over especially if you know how heavy high end equipment are...

light material tripods are also pretty expensive cause it weights so little.

Lastly a tripod (good one)...should last you for generations...you can pass it on to your kids
Nov 12, 2012
611 posts
269 upvotes
Calgary
Not that I would ever try it, but the sales guy fully supported his weight on the floor model of my tripod. Sure it bowed a little bit, but that was easily 4x over the max weight according to the specs. Try that on a $60 tripod.
Deal Addict
May 28, 2011
1139 posts
187 upvotes
Depends on your camera, if its light and cheap sure, a 10$ one can probably even suffice, but if its a fullframe or a red then you must define can do the job, define why spend more, then justify your question and answer about cost.
WESTNYLEFX
THE COMPUTER GURU.
Mar 10, 2004
22 posts
1 upvote
You can buy a nice tripod for $300 bucks. The more expensive tripods feature more exotic materials like carbon fiber, which cost more.
links to your own website are not allowed in signatures. you may link to your gallery on public photo sharing websites.
Deal Guru
Dec 3, 2004
10943 posts
419 upvotes
Markham/Mississauga
I suppose you think a $2500 70-200mm lens is overprice when a $400 75-300mm lens does the same thing?
Deal Guru
Jan 27, 2006
11314 posts
4616 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
You might think that the $80 'pod is steady... try doing a long exposure (longer than 10 seconds) with both 'pods and compare the sharpness. The more expensive 'pod will be sharper.