• Jan 11th, 2019 2:52 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 13, 2008
3191 posts
317 upvotes
Mississauga

Wii + Classic Controllers + Recommendations for a noob

So I'm turning 32. And my childhood was a little.... deprived of video gaming. I had a PS2 at one point, but I think that was it.

I have a Wii at home, on which I installed Homebrew + an emulator (can't remember which one). I started playing some Contra + TMNT that I remembered playing a long time ago. The memories came flooding back!

So I have two simple questions:

1. I hate playing classic games with the Wii mote. Which controller can I buy to enhanced my classic gaming experience? Do I buy the Wii Classic Controller? Does that plug into the Wii directly? or into the Wii mote? I'm about that simple life, so wired doesn't bother me. Let me know how much your recommended controller goes for and whats a good place to buy it (amazon/ebay/eb games/etc).....

2. Give me your 2 best game recommendations (and which system it belongs to) that I can dig up and play on the emulator. HELP ME WIN BACK MY CHILDHOOD!
5 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 14, 2010
2242 posts
297 upvotes
The classic controller and classic controller pro both plug into the Wiimote.
Jun 23, 2015
7 posts
Scarborough, ON
The classic controller pro is slightly more useful but the classic controller is arguably more comfortable. Emulating N64 games on the Wii is hard but one of my all time favourite games is Goemon's Great Adventure, a 3D action adventure game with ninjas. Megaman Battle Network on the Gameboy Advanced is one of my favourite series, (3 is the unanimous favourite amongst friends). But if you enjoy platformers/beat em up's like TMNT and Contra, Viewitiful Joe on gamecube is one of the absolute best and most underrated. Cult Classic. Enjoy
Apr 19, 2018
6 posts
15 upvotes