• Last Updated:
  • Feb 14th, 2018 10:38 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Jan 26, 2016
6 posts
Toronto, ON

Winding up Estate Account

I am the executor of my late Father and asking for help about how to wind up the estate account.

After probate(the bank insisted), his RIF got transferred to the estate account which is a checking account with the bank. That's all for his estate.

His last T1 return was filed and income tax was paid on the RIF transferred. Now, I plan to distribute the estate to the beneficiaries once I got the Notice Of Assessment.

Questions:

Is a T3 Trust return needed for the estate account after distribution?

Do the beneficiaries need to report that on their tax return?

Thanks in advance for your help.
8 replies
Oct 2, 2005
399 posts
15 upvotes
I'm no expert in this area but I have recently settled my father's estate so I can answer based upon my experience. There is a missing piece of information in your post. When did your father pass away and how long has the estate account been opened. Is the T1 return you filed the "Final Return"? The T1 Final Return is required and other returns (Right & Things return and T3 Trust Return are optional). The T3 Trust is used to report income after the time of death and until the estate is settled. It is unclear if there was any income earned by the estate account. If tax was paid on the distribution of the RIF it is not taxed by the beneficiaries.
[OP]
Jan 26, 2016
6 posts
Toronto, ON
Thanks for the info, mexicanbandit.

The T1 is the final return. The estate account was opened last year and it did not have interest paid.
Oct 2, 2005
399 posts
15 upvotes
No problem. I don't think you need a T3 Trust return in your case. You can also call the CRA and they can confirm.
Deal Addict
Jan 27, 2007
4899 posts
834 upvotes
Peterborough
No T3 is required.

Beneficiaries do not need tax reporting from the estate.

Sorry for your loss.
[OP]
Jan 26, 2016
6 posts
Toronto, ON
Thank you for the info, dutchca.