Tags:
None
[OP]
Nov 8, 2007
385 posts
9 upvotes
Ottawa

WindMobile Galaxy S3 - 4G

Just reading on the net that galaxy s3 from wind mobile does not have 4g or LTE speeds. I think the phone does have 4G and the source was incorrect.

I have limited knowledge of this stuff but would a firmware update give the Galaxy s3 t999 LTE capability in the future or does it need a hardware update (buying a new phone)? I only ask since I am currently with Wind and will be moving in a year or so to an area where I will need to switch back to rogers.
25 replies
Jun 11, 2009
767 posts
81 upvotes
Mississauga
Source was correct. Wind GS3 isn't LTE capable. No software can enable it for you. Its a hardware aspect. However, you can trade it with some1 who has Robellus GS3 which has LTE. Or buy a new one.
Penalty Box
Feb 10, 2007
9450 posts
884 upvotes
lol

sometimes people just want to believe what they want to believe
Babbsy wrote:
Nov 13th, 2012 11:30 am
Just reading on the net that galaxy s3 from wind mobile does not have 4g or LTE speeds. I think the phone does have 4G and the source was incorrect.

I have limited knowledge of this stuff but would a firmware update give the Galaxy s3 t999 LTE capability in the future or does it need a hardware update (buying a new phone)? I only ask since I am currently with Wind and will be moving in a year or so to an area where I will need to switch back to rogers.
[self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already]
Banned
Apr 12, 2011
815 posts
105 upvotes
depends on what you call "4g"
there was no such thing as 4g until this year..
standards for 4g= 100mbps mobile interwebs
lte last year=maxed out at 75mbps, lte advanced this year=150mbps
dchspa=42mbps, mimomulticell dchspa= 168mbps
depends on how you look at it.
Deal Expert