• Last Updated:
  • Nov 16th, 2018 9:10 pm
[OP]
Jun 20, 2018
53 posts
4 upvotes

Winter clothing for 1st time in Toronto

Hi Guys,

I am new in Toronto and this will be my first winters.

I would like to know what are the essentials to get for winters. I would be walking for good 10 - 15 mins in total.

here are the things that I have got-
1) Northface gotham 3 bomber jacket
2) Eddie bauer down jacket with 700 fill
3) Eddie bauer win breaker

I need to get gloves and which one you would suggest that works with iPhone?
I need winter boots which one to go for? I tried Sorel and Timberlands and they were heavy and uncomfortable.
Would I need a neck warmer?
Would I need to wear thermals inside?

What other things I need to take care and be warm for my first winters in Toronto.

Thanks.
16 replies
Nov 9, 2016
125 posts
54 upvotes
I think you got the bases covered with your list already my friend. The gotham jacket is super warm and you have a strong down filled jacket. In jacket department you are set.

for the boots, I have the Northface boots. They are super warm and comfy but not good for the extended walks. Personally they tend to hurt my knees after I walk a few kilometers.
Heres the Northface shoes I have

https://www.sportchek.ca/product/331622 ... olor%5D=99

For texting gloves you can find a ton of them online on amazon. Just check out the reviews and pick the one that suites your style.

Depending on where your walking I would recommend a scarf or a toque, but I can't see your location so I can't tell.

Overall, I think your off to a good start for your first winter, try softmoc for winter boots also. My brother went there and got some nice ones he said are warm. Your good with the jackets and wind breakers.
Last edited by therealbry on Oct 25th, 2018 10:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Nov 9, 2016
125 posts
54 upvotes