Students

The York University Thread

[OP]
Feb 16, 2005
930 posts
105 upvotes
Toronto

The York University Thread

I guess since it's the only school left without a thread.

To start it off, is anyone doing Frosh this year either as a leader or a participant?

Also, does anyone know when the OSAP documents are ready to pick-up? Too bad that Unitext closed down, I guess that's one less option to buy and sell our books.
6122 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 17, 2004
4831 posts
271 upvotes
I'm in 4th year, Majoring in Geography, getting certificate in GIS. I'm looking forward to Yorkfest for ALL THE FREE STUFF!!!! I dunno when osap documents are ready to be picked up but I always pick them up pretty late when there are nomore line-ups.

Heres a tip, for some classes you don't even need to buy the book as the prof either doesn't even use it or its on reserve in the library. If you're REALLY cheap some of the books aren't shrink wrapped in the bookstore, you can read it in there if nobody sees you.

Oh btw the URL in your signature to yorkonline or something doesn't work.
Aug 3, 2005
677 posts
3 upvotes
For textbooks,I always buy my textbooks used and then re sell them after that.You might only lose like 20 bucks per textbook if they continue to use the textbook or sometimes you can resell them at the same price.Dont be cheap in textbooks but there are some courses where textbooks are hardly used.
Deal Addict
Mar 17, 2004
4831 posts
271 upvotes
yeah several courses i've gotten like B+ and I don't even know what the book looks like.
Aug 3, 2005
677 posts
3 upvotes
B plus is a very good grade.I noticed that in your final years,getting a plus is like nearly impossible and getting A is lot and lot of work.

A piece of advice is that asked a lot of info about the prof that teaches a course.It is very important as some courses are lot easier by some prof rather than others.
Aug 3, 2005
677 posts
3 upvotes