Students

The York University Thread

Deal Addict
Oct 16, 2007
2486 posts
38 upvotes
Toronto
soaringshrimp wrote: Hey I'm thinking of going to York next year. I'm from Vancouver. I just read this on another website:

Is it true? Is York really in the middle of nowhere? I had originally considered getting a car but read that Toronto had good public transportation. Is a car necessary? I have heard the campus is in a sketchy area and I'd feel safer getting around in a car. I was considering the York apartments since I am a mature student, but I am not sure about spending upwards to $800.00/mth on rent and bills when I will be so busy with schoolwork, etc., I don't want to have to worry too much about other things. Anyone know if it's possible to get a dorm room in January?
I live in the apartments on Sentinel Rd. and don't find anything sketchy about it at all. There's students walking everywhere. The only people that are scared are those who are afraid of minorities.
Sep 23, 2009
77 posts
2 upvotes
mgronqui wrote: I live in the apartments on Sentinel Rd. and don't find anything sketchy about it at all. There's students walking everywhere. The only people that are scared are those who are afraid of minorities.
OK, thanks, is there much of a lively student environment there? I read this and I'm a bit worried:

"Ninety per cent or more of the students in each college are commuter students, and the colleges provide a home for them -- as well as the college residence students -- during their university years. One or more of the student clubs and activities in each college are bound to appeal to students, and events are scheduled with commuter students in mind."

York even admits it on their website!