• Oct 11th, 2017 11:03 pm
Deal Addict
Jun 11, 2008
3360 posts
135 upvotes
Toronto
MoneyTalk wrote:
Apr 3rd, 2012 3:14 am
I also assure you, there is no such things as "Easy As" in this program (I can't speak about the past, but as of now that is not true). Here is a post on the course website from my Professor (Alison Kemper),

"I have been given fierce direction that the mean I report to SAS at the end of the semester has to be around 63%. There are not a lot of high grades I can give out, I am afraid."

Are you taking 1010 as well? I might be in the same class as you :D

Anyways, I'm finding the program relatively difficult as well (I'm in my first year right now). With regards to the prof, all of the profs I've had are qualified enough to teach the course. However, it has been a mixed bag and I've had a fair share of bad profs. Also, with regards to the student population, I agree that the student body in the regular adms program is not at the same caliber as the students in Schulich or other top business programs, but that doesn't mean that the students are at a disadvantage. There's tons of resources around that'll help the students excel as long as they're willing to put in the effort to do so. It's the same in any institution, whether you're in Ivey or Schulich, that if you don't put in the effort to fully utilize the resources available, you won't fully benefit from going to the institution in the first place.
Apr 2, 2012
4 posts
1 upvote
MISSISSAUGA
commie wrote:
Apr 3rd, 2012 11:18 pm
You forgot 1 major differentiating factor between the BAS and the BBA program at York. The quality of the student body. For the most part, the BBA students tend to be the over-achievers, and go-getters, while BAS tend to be the more of the group average. And for a business degree program, you learn as much from your fellow students, as from the course content.