Expired Hot Deals

[Zwilling J.A. Henckels] Staub Cast Iron 1.85Qt wok 119.99$ down from 275$.

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 15th, 2019 2:00 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Feb 19, 2019
9 posts
16 upvotes

[Zwilling J.A. Henckels] Staub Cast Iron 1.85Qt wok 119.99$ down from 275$.

This is a small wok. I bought the 30cm one a few months back and love it.

Seems like a good deal but I'm no expert.
9 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2006
20833 posts
6870 upvotes
For the record I think a wok on any consumer range (including gas) is stupid.
It's less stupid on gas, but still stupid.

Use something flat like a regular pan. This way you get the most contact possible with the heat.
A wok shape only works because the fire underneath is usually 100-200k BTU. Your home stove uses literally 10% of that.
Jul 17, 2010
175 posts
144 upvotes
death_hawk wrote:
Mar 14th, 2019 12:27 pm

Use something flat like a regular pan. This way you get the most contact possible with the heat.
A wok shape only works because the fire underneath is usually 100-200k BTU. Your home stove uses literally 10% of that.
True. You can get 60k BTU outdoor burner for it though. Works great when you don't want to invest into a high pressure system.
Deal Addict
Nov 11, 2008
1050 posts
425 upvotes
Toronto
death_hawk wrote:

A wok with enough mass and a flat base can work well on any electric and gas ranges as long as you first heat it up covered until it is smoking. You can then add oil and fry a small amount of food at a time.
You can also deep fry small amounts with a wok.

I do prefer the standard cast iron pan if I need it to fry a significant amount of food at a time (ie. 2 big steaks).

I think as long as you don't fry too much at one time, you'll be OK and it's reflective of the stove you use.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2006
20833 posts
6870 upvotes
shamans wrote:
Mar 14th, 2019 10:22 pm