• Last Updated:
  • Aug 25th, 2010 6:43 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Apr 3, 2009
8 posts
Toronto

$13+/hr jobs in Toronto?

Here is a very general question: If I want to find a f/t job that pays $13 or more in Toronto and to find it quickly, where would you recommend looking? (Companies/industries)

I have a business degree and a couple of years of business experience (one in Canada and one is US) but a large gap on my resume because of academic experimentations. I am not picky and would welcome all suggestions. Thanks.
19 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 11, 2006
1681 posts
266 upvotes
The Radio Dept. wrote: Factory jobs...general labour. Look on Craigslist.

those probably wont' pay $13?
you probably want to look into construction general labour (if they still aren't saturated yet)
[OP]
Apr 3, 2009
8 posts
Toronto
What about something like waiting tables or retail? Does that pay $13 or more?
Deal Addict
May 4, 2010
1863 posts
582 upvotes
No, most retail most definitely does not pay 13$ or more, you're looking at minimum wage, some places will pay a bit higher but that goes hand in hand with having experience and finding a higher end retail position that isn't clothing or groceries. In which case you better be good at selling b/c it will most likely be commission + minimum wage.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, look into promotions, although the season for it is almost over some campaigns still take place during the fall/winter and it depends on the company as well. You can get paid anywhere from 12.50-22$ an hour depending on experience and the company.
Dec 18, 2008
665 posts
4 upvotes
waterloo
since you have business experience, the best place would be going to a job agency. usually pays you around 13-15 bucks an hour if you are lucky.

otherwise, asking friends is another good way to find a job.
Deal Addict
May 24, 2010
1034 posts
153 upvotes
unless its a real crappy restaurant, waiters and waitresses definitely make more than 13 an hour after tip
Deal Addict
Apr 13, 2006