Home & Garden

$159 for duct cleaning? Too good to be true?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 1st, 2021 6:27 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 26, 2007
1210 posts
315 upvotes

$159 for duct cleaning? Too good to be true?

Hey all,

I've decided to get our Ducts cleaned. I was settled on going with Dave's Ducts as they had good reviews and liked the look of their offer. But the price was going to be just shy of $500 for my house.
I then stumbled on another company that was $159 (SM Duct Cleaning). They have a reasonable number of Google reviews. I've never done the duct cleaning before - so aside from some pre-research, wouldn't know what to specifically watch for. Is the $159 too good to be true - or am I crazy and should go with Dave's Duct Cleaning?

Thanks all.
9 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 2, 2001
4369 posts
1712 upvotes
GTA
How big is your house? I paid around $400 cleaning a 3000sqft house. You eventually get what you pay for.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 26, 2007
1210 posts
315 upvotes
shabby wrote: How big is your house? I paid around $400 cleaning a 3000sqft house. You eventually get what you pay for.
Thanks for the reply - 2600sq/ft (20 vents not including the unfinished basement)

That's what I'm wondering - what am I getting what I'm paying.
Deal Addict
Jul 2, 2006
1422 posts
609 upvotes
Toronto
Usually low prices means that it includes only a limited amount of main ducts and vents. Once they get here they will start up upsell you based on your HVAC set up and what "add-ons" you want like sanitizing agents, etc. Important to fully understand what that $159's scope of work is and ask about what additional charges are to avoid surprises.