2018 Subaru Forester 2.0XT - how much did you pay? how to negotiate

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 12th, 2018 3:06 pm
Sep 22, 2015
105 posts
30 upvotes
Toronto, ON

2018 Subaru Forester 2.0XT - how much did you pay? how to negotiate

I'm looking at buying the 2018 Subaru Forester 2.0XT Touring trim (without eye sight option). Has anyone purchased this vehicle? Mind sharing how much you paid?

Any good negotiation tactics? I'm a novice at buying cars.

Thanks
10 replies
Feb 7, 2008
966 posts
358 upvotes
Okanagan
AFAIK Subaru dealers are 'famous' for hard to deal with. I've purchased Forester couple of years ago and the salesman told me they don't have to lower the price because they are not bleeding like big 3. Got some off but that's all.
Deal Guru
Feb 4, 2015
10331 posts
6697 upvotes
Canada, Eh!!
Try thru unhaggle or apa [think they sell at like 900 above invoice] BUT could possibly do better on your own with email blast... search threads.

Keep in mind that there were rumours on forester forums that no XT for redesigned 2019 model so could hamper negotiations on 2018 model. It's about 10% of their sales so understand logic but it's one of the sportiest compact/mid size suv so hope rumours wrong.
2022/3: BOC raised 10 times and MCAP raised its prime next day.
2017,2018: BOC raised rates 5 times and MCAP raised its prime next day each time.
2020: BOC dropped rates 3 times and MCAP waited to drop its prime to include all 3 drops.
Sep 23, 2017
56 posts
54 upvotes
where are you OP?
I dont think an email blast works in the GTA.
APA and other brokers use the manager, John I think, from Scarboro Subaru.
So you can just find out Apa's price and get a couple off quotes from brokers, and then go to John and ask for $500 off of the lowest.
Mar 20, 2006
284 posts
70 upvotes
Edmonton, Alberta
When I bought my xt years ago. When I tried to negotiate I was told that the car would only be sold at msrp, if I wanted it, great, but if I didn't, no skin off their backs.