[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 27, 2013
1825 posts
582 upvotes
Toronto

2019 Subaru Forester - Problem Starting

Hi.

Car noob here. Can anyone inform me what is causing my Forester to not start? I recorded it below. I tried it a third time and it just just got worse. This is the first time trying to start the car after I got an oil change (yesterday) at the dealership. Is it possible they messed up the connectors to the battery? I believe they performed a vehicle check after they changed the oil.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Ed44DZd4qETQpssL6

Any help would be appreciated. Is it a big issue/expensive to fix?
Thanks
44 replies
Dec 13, 2012
31 posts
23 upvotes
WHITBY
It seems like the battery is dead. A light or something was probably left on that discharged the battery. Maybe try boosting it with either a battery booster pack or another car.
Jul 19, 2010
608 posts
247 upvotes
Calgary
its the battery.. you need a new one. ( since it's a 2019, you might be able to get a prorated warranty from the dealer)
Jun 21, 2006
815 posts
420 upvotes
Hello yes it is a battery issue. since your car is 2019 i am pretty sure subaru has free roadside assistance you should call them
before you bring it in you remove all those dash cameras , gps all aftermarket electrical as they will just blame those things for draining the battery
Nov 14, 2018
18 posts
6 upvotes
Subaru batteries are notorious for being "golf cart" quality. You'll see many others in the same boat if you do a google search. I got stranded 4 times due to my factory battery in my 2015 Forester XT. Went straight to Costco and bought a Kirkland and never had an issue again. The dealer paid for my replacement as well.
Deal Expert
Feb 8, 2014
19628 posts
7187 upvotes
Socially Distanced
Sometimes batteries die from old age or low quality (which seems to be the consensus in this thread so far) but they can also die because the alternator did a poor job recharging them.