2021: Outback XT versus Rav4 Hybrid versus Kia Sorento

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 16th, 2021 8:52 pm
[OP]
Dec 27, 2011
22 posts
6 upvotes

2021: Outback XT versus Rav4 Hybrid versus Kia Sorento

Which would you choose? I have to do a long road trip move in one with some boxes from a studio apartment. And then will be using it as a daily driver in a snowy Kootenay town. Safety, seat comfort, ride quality, handling are all important to me--as is adaptive cruise/lane centering tech that works very well. I'm an amateur in snow driving, so one that makes it easiest is important.

Any idea which one would negotiate me the best deal on a top of the line trim (outback premier, rav4 hybrid limited, sorento sx)?
31 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
36577 posts
22729 upvotes
Center of Universe
A hybrid would be the better choice for long road trips.
Dec 25, 2006
638 posts
559 upvotes
Winnipeg
One bit of advice - DO NOT RELY ON TECHNOLOGY to help you be a better driver. What happens if and/or when it fails?
Driving is not "easy". You need to stay alert and on top of what you're doing at ALL times. Far too many people aren't these days.

As far as vehicle choice - my brother bought a RAV4 hybrid and loves it for it's fuel economy. I have no idea on driver aids.

Kia no idea/experience although Kia's resale values don't seem to be too great in comparison to Toyota and Subaru.

As to Subaru - their Eyesight package is ok. I owned a '16 Legacy which is one generation older. Eyesight is/was completely vision based so in heavy/medium snow and rain it would completely shut down. Cruise control wouldn't even work - was a giant pain.
People will believe what they want to believe whether fact or fiction.
'tis most frustrating when they aren't open to see and/or learn which is which.
Jul 3, 2001
836 posts
239 upvotes
GTA
vkizzle wrote: A hybrid would be the better choice for long road trips.