Careers

27 year old with a bachelors in admin studies looking to explore the possibilities of I.T(considering SAS certification)

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 22nd, 2018 7:20 pm
[OP]
Jan 1, 2015
6 posts
North York, ON

27 year old with a bachelors in admin studies looking to explore the possibilities of I.T(considering SAS certification)

Hi guys, I have some big decisions to make this week and I was hoping some of you could maybe help out

To summarize, I have a bachelors in admin studies (basically a business degree from York U). I don't want to pursue a CFA or CPA like most people in my career path or work as a bank teller, etc.

I live near Toronto, I'm 27 years old. People have hobbies and I've had so many but the one that stuck with me seriously was music production. I love being creative in general because it feeds my soul. Ok ok enough about me. Fast forward, lately I have been getting interested in I.T. It's time to make some serious moves. This is mainly because im trying to figure out what to do career wise so Im narrowing things down (if you have any recommendations/ other avenues after reading the thread feel free to respond here or even pm me!).

I dont think it makes sense to go back to school and do another 4-5 year program in I.T.

I'm open to all suggestions but I was researching this SAS certification which kind of blends my current degree with an I.T component.

Can I get some feedback on SAS and how it's treated you? Are there colleges (post grad) or other programs that offer this certification cheaper and faster than the official SAS website? Im open to all other suggestions you guys may have as well, im all ears.

Looking forward to all your responses. Will check back tomorrow. Have a great day!
17 replies
Jan 1, 2010
337 posts
311 upvotes
Whatever you do, make sure that you have some sort of co-op involved. It makes a HUGE difference.
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2006
10620 posts
4894 upvotes
Brampton
JohnFo wrote:
Sep 4th, 2018 7:05 pm