Ongoing Deal Discussion

[Epson.ca] 3LCD projectors 40%+ off clearance (refurb) sales.

Deal Addict
Aug 4, 2006
2454 posts
606 upvotes
Toronto
LauD14 wrote:
Jan 18th, 2018 10:40 am
Thanks for your review.

I also received my yesterday and only took 20 minutes to setup, mind you it was a ghetto setup projecting against a beige wall of about 100" and sitting on top of a laundry hamper about 10' away lol but that shows you how versatile it is. I would say that the picture quality is quite good, but nothing special and not better than my old 52" Sony Bravia LCD. I find that it is very bright even in Eco mode so much so that I had to adjust the brightness to a lower setting. It does take maybe about a minute or so for the screen to display once turn the projector on.

Although I knew that the blacks won't be as black as LCD/LED, I didn't think it was going to be noticeable but it was definitely noticeable, and I'm far from a cinema expert but I appreciate quality imaging. I think this is a major trade off for some people, but I am accepting this trade off for a bigger screen and also not having a proper projector screen. I'm sure that with a proper screen and understanding the features and image settings will only improve the PQ.

Adjusting the screen size may be an issue if you have a smaller room and expect this to project big. Luckily I didn't need to adjust by using the keystone adjustments. The zoom feature was nice and it was easy to use. So far, I've only connected with the Chromecast and haven't tried other sources. I can see this being hours of fun testing and playing with different inputs especially when I don't have a receiver to simplify.

So far the wife was not totally impressed with the picture quality, but then again she wasn't too impressed when the box came from Amazon either- so she's a little bit pissed to start with, she'll get over it.