Personal Finance

5K Laser Eye Surgery - wait or go for it?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 12th, 2019 5:06 pm
[OP]
Jul 17, 2014
104 posts
34 upvotes
Canada

5K Laser Eye Surgery - wait or go for it?

Hey Folks,

I am debating whether to perform laser eye surgery. I am a student and it would cost me 5K out of pocket.
Should I wait until I get a job (ideally it would be in Engineering) for which then the procedure will be covered by insurance?

Can you please share with me whether if you work in Engineering and your company covers this surgery?

Thank you.
64 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 16, 2009
2491 posts
915 upvotes
Woodbridge
To the best of my knowledge, it doesnt depend on the field of your work but rather who is your "Extended Insurance provider" and the terms negotiated with the company.
sakonpure6 wrote: Hey Folks,

I am debating whether to perform laser eye surgery. I am a student and it would cost me 5K out of pocket.
Should I wait until I get a job (ideally it would be in Engineering) for which then the procedure will be covered by insurance?

Can you please share with me whether if you work in Engineering and your company covers this surgery?

Thank you.
HVAC Professional. Committed to customer, not brand.
Humidifier 2020 Group Buy
[OP]
Jul 17, 2014
104 posts
34 upvotes
Canada
So technically, there is no guarantee that my future employer is going to cover the surgery.
and I won't go around choosing employers based on their insurance plan lol

Thank you, I think I will go ahead and do it, money comes and goes (but it can be stressful)
Deal Addict
Jun 16, 2009
2491 posts
915 upvotes
Woodbridge
I don;t know how urgent and how important your eye surgery is. If it can wait, than MAY BE you will get lucky and have it covered. If not you can always pay.
sakonpure6 wrote: So technically, there is no guarantee that my future employer is going to cover the surgery.

Thank you, I think I will go ahead and do it, money comes and goes (but it can be stressful)