• Last Updated:
  • Oct 13th, 2016 10:42 pm
Tags:
Apr 7, 2007
864 posts
49 upvotes
Scarborough

9 Screen Setup

I'm trying to figure out a way to achieve this without paying $2000 for that video card.

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/produ ... deos/#C900

Can I potentially take a ATI card with Eyefinity and 3 displayport outputs -- use the active display adapter splitters 1.2mst to then split each of those into 3 outs? which will give me 9

OR

can I take two ATI cards with a crossfire board and output to the nine screens?

Appreciate the help on this as I'm brand new to it and I'm trying to figure out the cheapest way to do this. This will be used in an office setting to display video utilizing all nine screens as one, so pretty much exactly as the video I posted above.

Thanks
32 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2006
31271 posts
17295 upvotes
Easy. Since it looks like they're not gaming, all you need is a board with sufficient PCI-E slots (in this case 5) and 5x GPUs.
Finding a board with sufficient PCI-E16x is going to be an issue, but they do make PCI-E1x GPUs.

It might be a bit more money if you want all DVI but you'll be fine mixing VGA and DVI.

GPUs each (for PCI-E1x GPUs) are $70 each.
PC could be damn near anything with enough slots.
Monitors are going to be a bit much.

EDIT: Here's a PCI-E1X GPU: 12 ZT-71304-20L
Do you not have anything else to do rather than argue with strangers on the internet
Nope. That's why I'm on the internet arguing with strangers. If I had anything better to do I'd probably be doing it.
Deal Addict
Oct 9, 2010
3149 posts
1334 upvotes
Windsor
Two videocards with 4x outputs (there are a bunch of them, but I know you can get W4100s for cheap ... gets u 4x DP that will all run at once), then an onboard. Or 3x videocards with 3 outputs. Or 1x card with 4 outputs, and 2x videocards with 3 outputs.