• Jul 9th, 2012 2:51 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Sep 12, 2010
23 posts

Accounting Career Advice Needed for CMA SLP student

Hello Everyone

I have a question that hopefully people can help out with. I am a CMA student going into my last year of the SLP program in September, on pace to be fully designated by June 2013. I also have been out of a job for about two months, as the maternity leave contract I was working on expired.

Anyways, some good news: I was just offered a position at a large reputable company where I would be working on preparing public financial statements, month end close, variance analyses, etc.

I have also interviewed at another large, reputable company for a Financial Analyst position that would mainly deal with A/R and A/P. This company wants to check my references, and I believe I'm in the top 3 candidates. In this position, I would have a few administrators reporting to me, and as such I believe that the salary would be higher than the other company, probably by approximately 5,000 to 10,000 per year (haven't seen an offer yet, I just think that will be the range).

Now here is my question: The first opportunity where I would be preparing financial statements, etc. would be the better opportunity long term and more interesting job for me to take. I think that the experience I would get in that role would be much better and I would enjoy the work more. Although the other role would pay more, I am not really interested in doing an A/R and A/P job for long, and don't want to get stuck in that area of accounting.

So...question is, if I am offered a position at the 2nd company in A/R and A/P, assuming it pays between $5,000 and $10,000 higher per year, which one would people reccomend that I take? How much of a difference in salary would it take for you to accept a less appealing role? Also, if I do get an offer at the 2nd company, do you think it would be wise for me to go back to the first company and try to negotiate a higher salary?