Computers & Electronics

Is Acronis still best for Windows backup software?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 30th, 2019 8:29 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 28, 2002
1080 posts
17 upvotes
Toronto

Is Acronis still best for Windows backup software?

I need to install backup software on a Windows 10 PC and am trying o figure out what to get. I have a lot of experience with Acronis, but am wondering if I should be looking at other options. The software needs to support incremental backups, restore from bootable USB and shouldn't impact system performance when backups aren't running.

All suggestions are appreciated.
9 replies
Sep 1, 2009
316 posts
252 upvotes
gta
Macrium has always been good to me . Less forgiving mind you but , pretty accurate.
“I swear by my life and my love of it that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.”-John Galt 😎
Deal Addict
Jan 21, 2018
4669 posts
4720 upvotes
Vancouver
Acronis is no longer good. Macrium Reflect is the best of the ones I've tried, although the free version has some unfortunate limitations like no encryption and no incremental backup. I tried half a dozen other options after giving up on Acronis, finding issues with all of them before settling on Macrium Reflect. The UI isn't the most intuitive, but at least it works reliably. The others were exasperating, doing things like spontaneously forgetting where they were in an incremental backup set for no apparent reason, or taking a ridiculously long time to complete a backup.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 28, 2002
1080 posts
17 upvotes
Toronto
Sounds like I should check out Macrium. I'll give the free version a try, then hope there's a sale for Black Friday for the Home edition.
Nov 23, 2001
572 posts
120 upvotes
OP, check Veeam. It's one of the best out there.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 29, 2005
5967 posts
1285 upvotes
Montreal
I used to use Acronis until my version was no longer compatible with Windows 109.

I've tried both Macrium and Veeam and prefer Macrium.