• Last Updated:
  • Feb 22nd, 2020 9:15 pm
Feb 18, 2013
309 posts
95 upvotes
Scarborough

Adding Newborn to Existing Will

Hello,

My Wife and I had a Will written up when our first child was born, and we welcomed our second into the world recently.

We contacted the Law Office where we had our Wills originally written to inquire about how we can add our second child to the will, and add her as a beneficiary, and they said we had to write up a new will, and will cost $700

Is this correct? I was surprised to hear that a new will had to be written. Anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks
9 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2001
18945 posts
10527 upvotes
I am not at a lawyer, however when I was reading recently I came across a term that covered making changes - codicil. It is what allows for amendments to a will and can be used instead of writing a new will. That said, and again I am not a lawyer, a codicil may not be appropriate when making a large number of changes to your will (which adding an additional child may do). This could be why the law office states a new will needs to be written.

Now there is a lawyer on RFD, and I am sure she tires of being called on so I apologize in advance, but perhaps she can help. @angryaudifanatic
Deal Addict
Mar 24, 2015
1404 posts
739 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
I remember being asked by our lawyer if we were planning on having more children when we did our will. We were not sure and I believe he put it in the will that any future children would be covered, i.e. everything would be split between the number of kids we have.
Deal Addict
Nov 10, 2018
4735 posts
5331 upvotes
TLDR You need a new Will if you want it to have a good chance to reflect your wishes.

If I have time later I'll explain but the short of it is that you really should start from scratch again.
For legal topics and discussions, the opinion, guidance, and thoughts provided are my own and are not considered to be legal advice, in any manner.
Feb 18, 2013
309 posts
95 upvotes