• Jul 30th, 2020 7:15 pm
[OP]
Mar 24, 2015
30 posts
36 upvotes
Thornhill, ON

Advice Request - Seeking to Transition Out of People Focused Work

Good Morning,
I currently work as a supervisor with a non-profit which supports individuals with disabilities. My contract is due to expire at the end of August.
Although I have had some success making my way up the ladder in non-profit, I do not enjoy the people focused work which I do.
I would be a lot happier if I could work in an individual capacity. I was driving the other day and looked out at a Canada Post Mail Carrier. I found myself so envious. That is a job that I would love because you do not need to be "on" socially for the entire work day.
I have my BA, B.Ed and have worked in non-profit for the last 6 years, just over 3 years with my company serving individuals with disabilities.
Could I please request any advice on how to transition, and what to transition to - where my work background would be transferrable?
Honestly, some days I wish I could sit in a box and work - but I have a family and bills are never-ending so I cannot go back to school for something like coding etc.
I would really appreciate any help I could get. Thank you!
6 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 3, 2009
5992 posts
1342 upvotes
Toronto
This type of thread seems to come around now and then. That is, posters in this forum looking for the highest salary possible in a back office role so they don't have to deal with people.

You haven't really brought up the money tho, only you can't go back to school. Therefore my question is, how much of a pay cut are you willing to take? With your Canada Post example, are you ok with those wages?
Remember to be an RFD-er and NOT a degenerate.
Deal Fanatic
Jul 13, 2009
5070 posts
3251 upvotes
OP you sound burnt out. Have you sought out help?

It happens in people-intensive work, when you put so much effort helping others you forget yourself.
[OP]
Mar 24, 2015
30 posts
36 upvotes
Thornhill, ON