Careers

Advice on switching careers. Should I go back to university in my mid-30s?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 9th, 2020 5:26 pm
[OP]
Jan 24, 2015
460 posts
266 upvotes
GTA

Advice on switching careers. Should I go back to university in my mid-30s?

I'm a CPA and senior auditor at a big4 accounting firm, and want to make a switch. Don't want to do another busy season, I feel underpaid and unappreciated at my job.

Career in finance sounds nice, I have one more CFA exam left to take, but getting a job in finance without a network seems impossible. Haven't heard back from any job applications I've sent out.

A career as a software developer seems interesting too. Is it worth it for me to quit, and applying for uni again? Or am I being crazy?

How should I get out from audit? I read the road to $100k salary thread, it's been a long time since I graduated and I'm not even at $80k. Maybe a career change will help.
Last edited by redflags10 on Feb 16th, 2020 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
41 replies
Deal Fanatic
Oct 26, 2003
7061 posts
104 upvotes
Nepean
if you can't network, it really doesn't matter which field you get into
Nov 26, 2013
67 posts
4 upvotes
London
I’m in my late 20s and switched. I was actually in accounting as well but never went as far as CPA. I had already hated it before I got that far lol. I went into a totally different field than you are thinking of but when I went back to school there was people in their 40s even. So I would definitely say you’re not too old to go back and if you have any doubt at all with this career then make the switch. I did and have never been happier.
[OP]
Jan 24, 2015
460 posts
266 upvotes
GTA
TenzoR wrote: if you can't network, it really doesn't matter which field you get into
that's true, wish i had better networking skills. but doing something new will give me a new goal to work for, and i will have more time to improve my networking