• Last Updated:
  • Jun 11th, 2020 10:17 am
[OP]
May 22, 2013
47 posts
63 upvotes
Toronto

[Amazon.ca] All Clad 7 piece stainless set $403

The 7 piece sets have hovered in the $650 range for years, recently dipping to $400.

I'm a professional chef so I refuse to buy junk. All Clad has a lifetime warranty and it's made in America so you're supporting high-paying, skilled workers.

Costco has knock-off sets for a fraction of the price but if you search Reddit you'll find many people getting warped pans after only a few uses, then they don't sit
flat on your cooktop.

A few thoughts on this set.

8qt stock pot - possibly the most useful piece for any kitchen. Boiling pasta, deep frying, searing meat for stew, chili, and of course making stock. Other brands have taller/narrower 8qt pots, which
are really awkward to use and give less surface area for searing. If you try to find this pot by itself it's typically $280 "on sale". So to get it in this set for $400 is a great deal.

3 qt saute pan with lid - really useful for braising meat; sear on the stove then finish in the oven with lid. Also great for shallow frying meatballs and such.

3 qt sauce pot - a good size for doing rice for 4-8 people, boiling potatoes, or making a sauce. 2 qt is too small for a lot of jobs, 4qt can get a bit large/unwieldy.

10" skillet - this is the only piece that's not ideal. The 12" skillet is much more useful for searing a lot of meat or cooking a bunch of chicken cutlets, french toast, etc. I have a 10 and 12" and just use the 10" when I need less space. It's not useless
by any means but the 12" would be more useful.