• Last Updated:
  • Aug 4th, 2021 1:30 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 8, 2002
2313 posts
1365 upvotes
Toronto

[Amazon.ca] Zojirushi Micom Water Boiler and Warmer 5.0 L (CD-LFC50WA) - $159.99

Was looking for a hot water dispenser and came across this model. $209.99 - $50 coupon (click under the price to apply)

Seems like a warm deal for a made in Japan 5L Zojirushi. Other 5L Zojirushi's models sell for $250+. I'm no expert on this stuff, can anyone comment if this is a good one to get?
15+ Years of 100% Positive Feedback

EBAY / HEATWARE / RFD
31 replies
Aug 7, 2007
975 posts
190 upvotes
Vancouver
Used the exact same one for past 5 years, no issues. Works great.
Relatively quiet.
Jun 15, 2019
251 posts
382 upvotes
Warm water dispenser? Just curious, what for? Sounds like it's not tea-making-hot, right?
Deal Addict
Sep 13, 2015
4277 posts
4495 upvotes
Alberta
rokask wrote: Warm water dispenser? Just curious, what for? Sounds like it's not tea-making-hot, right?
Warm deal, hot water
Oct 21, 2014
10 posts
11 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
Exactly what is the use? Why so expensive ?
Dec 17, 2017
26 posts
25 upvotes
rokask wrote: Warm water dispenser? Just curious, what for? Sounds like it's not tea-making-hot, right?
So it basically holds the water at a temperature of your choice at all times (160-195 F). If you want to boil it you hit a button to reboil (or go up to one of those temps). The temperatures supposedly are in line with the ideal temps for making different teas.

This one doesn't appear vaccum sealed, which can be a bit less efficient as it needs to be "on" more to maintain the water temperature.
Deal Addict
Jul 18, 2005
3551 posts
17 upvotes
cpsharma15 wrote: Exactly what is the use? Why so expensive ?
It heats up/boils water and can hold it at the specified temperature to be dispensed at anytime. East Asians like drinking hot water.

Expensive because it's Zojirushi. They make high quality reliable appliances.
Dec 2, 2020
130 posts
199 upvotes