• Last Updated:
  • Oct 15th, 2018 11:58 am
Tags:
Deal Expert
Mar 14, 2009
16760 posts
8093 upvotes

AMD

Let me preface this thread by saying that I am not an investor and I know little to nothing about stocks or the financial system in general. However I have been a tech enthusiast for close to 30 years now and I like to think I know a fair bit about computer hardware and whatnot. My opinion for what it's worth is that it's a fantastic time to buy some AMD stock right now. I say this because Intel, the market leader, has reportedly completely failed to transition to the new 10nm node to the point that they are not able to produce any meaningful quantity of processors using the new process. This means that they are unable to produce their upcoming chips, and their current 14nm node has no capacity left as a result. Further to this, their CEO resigned in a scandal and also their processors were affected by a series of horrible security breaches.

AMD, OTOH, is firing on all cylinders. They were able to poach a mad genius named Jim Keller who designed their current processors from the ground up. These Ryzen chips are quite good but they don't clock as high as the Intel chips despite having similar per core and per clock performance. Now, take this with a grain of salt because this is based on rumors and nothing is confirmed. But from what I gather AMD has decided to skip the 10nm node completely and they are going straight to 7nm. Apple recently released their new iPhones with the A12 processor built on this new 7nm node. So far so good and it will be receiving widespread industry adoption shortly.