Careers

Any other professionals working a part-time side job?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 16th, 2018 3:56 am
Tags:
None
Deal Expert
Oct 7, 2010
15536 posts
5790 upvotes
divx wrote: dat true? sometimes i wonder if i should come back to gta, but posts like these aren't giving me any conviction
Where are you now?
Banned
Dec 5, 2015
2038 posts
429 upvotes
Concord, ON
I worked as a server on weekends at the keg and I basically got another paycheque equivalent money of my reg job

I had no weekends but I made 2k a mth extra ..mostly in cash...kept that up for 2 yrs or so
Deal Addict
Apr 15, 2011
1484 posts
380 upvotes
Shunshin wrote: I agree, 50k is not enough in Vancouver/Toronto. What is it that you do for your primary job? Able to move up in a few years?
We both work in administration.

Yes opportunities for growth within both our firms.

I don't think it's that weird, I know tons of professionals who work nights too.

Small price to pay to not have to live in the suburbs (we are truly city folks)

My goal in the next 5 years is to get to 9hrs work each day, which will be more reasonable IMO
Deal Addict
Apr 15, 2011
1484 posts
380 upvotes
divx wrote: dat true? sometimes i wonder if i should come back to gta, but posts like these aren't giving me any conviction
It's definitely true if you have a mortgage and a car for transport!

If you wanna rent and public transit, then no need for second job IMO
Deal Fanatic
Sep 23, 2007
5654 posts
2168 upvotes
I don't have a second job. But I can relate since I have a main job (accounting) and some side affairs. My advice is: you need to know what you want out of life. If money is the most important, and you have no better options then do it. You're already sensing the stress so you can make the call if it's worth it to you or not. I think most people would prefer a more balanced life. If you're young, these are probably your best years and you should have a little fun.