• Last Updated:
  • Jan 13th, 2023 11:42 pm
Deal Addict
Dec 8, 2008
1887 posts
225 upvotes
GTA

Anyone have experience renovating 30+year old condo? budgeting questions

Hi, my mom lives in a 35 year old fairly old condo, pretty big ~1200sq ft, and needs a full reno most likely. 2 bed 2 bath. I have no knowledge of anything like this and was wondering if anyone has done a full reno on an old condo and how much I should expect (a very rough ball park is fine)..? no need for top of the line stuff, but it is really outdated and needs a whole makeover. Thanks for your tips
Last edited by leoben on Jan 11th, 2023 10:14 am, edited 2 times in total.
15 replies
Dec 29, 2019
304 posts
162 upvotes
Toronto, Ontario
I had a family member who did a pretty nice reno for an older 2 bedroom, 2 full bath condo. Cost them about 100k to fully gut and redo everything, including plumbing.
I would say the ballpark for your mom's reno would be ~50k if you are not fussy about finishes and are not getting custom cabinetry.
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
27765 posts
27803 upvotes
Eastern Ontario
leoben wrote: Hi, my mom lives in a 35 year old fairly old condo, pretty big ~12 sq ft, and needs a full reno most likely. I have no knowledge of anything like this and was wondering if anyone has done a full reno on an old condo and how much I should expect (a very rough ball park is fine)..? no need for top of the line stuff, but it is really outdated and needs a whole makeover. Thanks for your tips
Photos are worth a 1000 words

Would go a long way here in knowing what you are up against

Also ya know numbers are going to be all over the map …
Cuz everyone has different tastes & budgets

Also …
I doubt she lives in 12 Square Feet (a 3 x 4 box )
So you’ll want to edit your post to fix that
Upside-down Face
Deal Guru
Jan 25, 2007
12695 posts
7861 upvotes
Paris
Remember everything is more costly in a condo as access for trades is way harder.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 17, 2012
5381 posts
5001 upvotes
Toronto