Real Estate

Anyone having a hard time renting their Toronto condo?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 7th, 2020 1:34 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Dec 7, 2019
11 posts
19 upvotes

Anyone having a hard time renting their Toronto condo?

My name is Max and I'm a journalist in Toronto. I'm noticing a huge uptick in the number of Toronto condos that are going up for rent on MLS in the last month or so. I've attached a graph with data going up to June 15th.

I'm curious how this affecting condo owners. Are you having a hard time renting out your condo due to the flood of supply? Are you concerned that decreasing rent prices will put a dent in condo resale values?

GTA (esp Toronto) condo prices have been pretty resilient in recent years (see other attached graph). Currently condo prices are still rising, while rents are falling, which seems unsustainable to me.

Feel free to reach out to me directly at [email protected] or 437-993-4309
Images
  • condo-rentals.PNG
  • condo-sales.PNG
Last edited by TomRFD on Jul 24th, 2020 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: updated title
48 replies
May 3, 2010
688 posts
336 upvotes
Not sure where the data is coming from but I keep checking the area where my rental condo is and the prices have kept increasing there to the point, my condo, at current rent is severely cheaper in comparison.
Sep 16, 2009
685 posts
475 upvotes
GameChannel wrote: Not sure where the data is coming from but I keep checking the area where my rental condo is and the prices have kept increasing there to the point, my condo, at current rent is severely cheaper in comparison.
thats not what he said....
Deal Expert
Feb 29, 2008
19068 posts
17389 upvotes
Tarrana & The Ri…
Look forward to seeing the story global is going to run on this. I can almost write it word for word right now.