Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Dec 9, 2004
1855 posts
78 upvotes
Oshawa

Anyone here a 'Millwright'?

Well I doubt this is the place to ask a trade type question as most people here seem to work in more professional careers. Anyways I'm currently employed as a Golf Course Technician at a fairly high end semi-private course in central ontario. I'm at the moment "oficially" the assistant tech, however I had taken over the day to day operations over 3 years ago, and am basically awaiting the current "official" head Tech. to retire and for me to take over and hire myself an asistant.
As for training I'm currently studying to get my Small Engine Mech. ticket through my old apprenticeship. I'm also a Turf Technician Apprentice in my first and only year. Both of these apprenticeships can be finished in a few months if I bust my a$$. Well recently I've found I'm quite bored with everything as there's not much of a challenge anymore except the random interesting thing. I have done some research and would like to try something with a higher degreee of skill needed aswell as the obvious more money.
I've nearly got my sights set on being a Millwright (industrial Technician), Durham college offers a an online 1st year course with saturday practical classes for 40 weeks. This enalbes me to keep working and paying bills and then only have to do 1 year in class for the 2nd year.
The point of this (whats turning into a novel :) ) is to ask about real world job availability, actual pay and general job security/job enjoyment.
Anyone here a Millwright like to give me some advice?
Thanks for readin' all that lol.
10 replies
Jun 30, 2003
244 posts
Cobourg, On