Students

Applying to GTA colleges after 4 failed years at university...any advice/recommendations?

[OP]
Sep 17, 2019
1 posts

Applying to GTA colleges after 4 failed years at university...any advice/recommendations?

I graduated from high school in 2015 and attended university for the past 4 years, but failed or nearly-failed most of my courses. Yes, I know, I wasted four years of my life. I kept thinking I would improve (youthful stubbornness, I supposed), but I did not. I was registered with disability services at my university due to mild high functioning Autism Spectrum Disorder (diagnosed with aspergers as a child), as well as ADHD (diagnosed at the end of second year university), but I struggled to obtain appropriate accommodations until the end of fourth year, by which point I had finally come to my senses and accepted the fact that college would likely be a better option for me.

I am interested a biological/life sciences and have been looking at college programs in the GTA. I am particularly interested in Medical Laboratory Technology, but the only diploma program offered in the GTA is at the Michener Institute, and the admission requirements state that applicants who have previously attended university for any length of time are required to have a cumulative GPA of 2.70 or higher in order to be considered for the program, and my final GPA was well below that. Therefore, while this program would be my top choice, I suspect it is impossible for me to ever be accepted into it. Realizing this, I have started looking into biotechnology programs instead. However, having heard very little of these programs, I am concerned about employment opportunities after graduation. If anyone has any information regarding employment success for biotechnology (advanced diploma) graduates, please share.

Any other advice/recommendations is welcome and would be very much appreciated.
5 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 13, 2012
2995 posts
777 upvotes
Toronto