None
[OP]
Deal Guru
Mar 24, 2005
14340 posts
656 upvotes
Toronto

Applying Online?

I find that this is useless, they almost never reply back, only the low-end jobs with desperate companies reply back via Email. I got 2 replies back for telemarketing which I hate to do. I applied at Future Shop and Best Buy numerous times with their online resume and survey, that doesn't work very well. I am still in high school and looking for a part-time job then full-time in the summer. I think I'll just print out large amounts of resumes and leave them in my dads car just in case we go anywhere that I would like to apply. But anyone have good experiences online?
5 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 18, 2005
1615 posts
40 upvotes
If you're applying for a high school summer job, its really not worth your while. Just try the traditional way of going in person.
Deal Addict
Jul 10, 2005
1370 posts
4 upvotes
The majority of jobs that I apply for are done online and I've received interviews. I am a university grad so things will be different for me as oppose to a high school student looking for part-time work.
Feb 20, 2005
655 posts
2 upvotes
if you are just applying to retail jobs and stuff for the summer, it's easier to just go in person, since the manager can just screen u right there, check outside the stores and look for hiring signs. I remember back when I applied to GAP, i just walked in to hand in my resume and they gave me an interview right there and called me back with a job in like two weeks or something.

I think online application are more effective when you are applying for a more serious job that requires them to really look at ur resume. If it's a highschool part time/summer, applying in person is better.

Good luck!
Aug 7, 2005
548 posts
51 upvotes
As a college grad, I've also gotten tons of calls from applying online.