Students

Applying to Uni after flunking first year

[OP]
Mar 31, 2013
1 posts

Applying to Uni after flunking first year

Hi, I am a 18 year old student currently attending University of Waterloo for honours Bio-Med. I completely bombed my first year, gaining no credits what so ever. This was due in part because i didn't go to class at all, and in part because i skipped almost all my exams with no valid excuse. I did very well in high school as i was living with my parents, they have always been my motivation. But due to living away from home and the partying life style of university im trying to transfer back to york, ryerson or UTM. They require you give your transcripts from both university and high school, is there any way i can only apply with high school marks? I only failed 4 courses as I dropped the other 6 before the drop deadline. I had prior acceptances from York, UTM and severeal other universities while i was in high school. I was never put on academic probation or anything of the sort because I am still in first year. Is there any way I can re-apply to first year as a high school student. Im constantly worried about not getting into a uni close to home, and i can never get it out of my mind its giving me anxiety and depression.

I've heard that many people bomb first year is there anyone else who has experience with this kind of thing any tips would be helpful.

If there is anything else i can do please let me know, I want to go to a closer university by next year, your help is greatly apprecaited and can change my life. Thanks in advance !
6 replies
Nov 1, 2012
93 posts
3 upvotes
Brampton
Hi there,

How many courses taken you taken exactly and are on your transcript? and your average? (if you dont mind)

I know that some unis if you take have than 1 year worth of credits, they will take your high schools marks for admission.

Best of luck, if you have any questions please let me know
Deal Addict
Jun 11, 2008
3363 posts
140 upvotes
Toronto