• Mar 18th, 2024 3:29 pm
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2007
1074 posts
164 upvotes
Markham

Ask me anything about HVAC heating air conditioning air quality control

Hello all,

I am a new member but long time lurker of this forum and i just thought I could be of some help opening a thread where people can ask me anything about the heating (HVAC) industry. Feel free to ask away.

I am a licenced contractor, from your area who does everything from furnace cleaning, to gas piping, to HRV, electronic air cleaners and so on.

I do free in home estimates on all of my services.

Feel free to ask anything about this industry and I will do my best to answer all of them.

Thanks for looking
Brian
Brooklin heating and air
15087 replies
Deal Fanatic
Feb 15, 2005
6795 posts
2504 upvotes
YEG
So, what's the best way to keep the air quality inside a new home clean and as dust free as possible? I've looked at a Lifebreath TFP coupled with an HRV but the combo costs about $4500 and costs $40/month to run.

What about UV lights? Are they effective or waste of electricity?
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2007
1074 posts
164 upvotes
Markham
UV light paired with a good filter is a great addition to any home or business. The UV works well to kill bacteria from your airstream. They are quite expensive now to get installed as they are still newer technology.

Does anyone in the house have bad allergies, or are you just interested in having the cleanest air availible to you?

The HRV is a great unit to add to bring fresh air into your house and release older stale air. I feel that your pricing is quite high for the hrv and purifier, and if you shop around, maybe with some of the smaller shops in your area you can get a much better price.

Your health isn't something that you can really put a price on. I think that $40/month is a very high estimate on monthly expense, I would estimate more like $25 for both units.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 11, 2001
9475 posts
1610 upvotes
Got a few,