Automotive

Locked: Auto insurance costs more than all other auto expenses combined.

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 1st, 2017 8:42 pm
[OP]
Banned
Nov 21, 2016
105 posts
38 upvotes

Auto insurance costs more than all other auto expenses combined.

My insurance costs $1,000 per year.

My car is worth <$1000.

I've been driving for 12 years with no accidents or claims.

I've wasted $10,000 on insurance over the last 10 years.

That is more than the initial cost of my car + all maintenance + all gasoline (~$9,000). Insurance is by far the largest single expense.

What am I paying for? $780 for 1 million third party liability, $120 for accident benefits (apparently mandatory in Alberta), and spare change for some undecipherable crap.

Am I getting scammed? Is there cheaper alternative? Is it the damn-them-to-hell government crooks to blame for these outrageous costs?

At this point I basically want to know who to yell at and what kind of alternatives I can possibly leverage.
Share:
19 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
34041 posts
19914 upvotes
Ottawa
Come to ON, well in parts of Toronto anyways and you'll likely pay 2x that amount.
Deal Addict
Sep 20, 2014
1276 posts
414 upvotes
Toronto, ON, CA
vkizzle wrote: Come to ON, well in parts of Toronto anyways and you'll likely pay 2x that amount.
$2500/yr - 27M. Clean record. Atleast it's through credit card, so I get 2% back via Capital One World Travel card.
Sep 4, 2015
261 posts
201 upvotes
Kitchener, ON
2009M5 wrote: $2500/yr - 27M. Clean record. Atleast it's through credit card, so I get 2% back via Capital One World Travel card.
Wow, that's a lot. I pay $2400 for two cars in Kitchener.

The best way to get a good quote is to ask friends that found a decent agent. That got me low rates in both Alberta (Calgary) and Ontario (Kitchener).
Deal Addict
Sep 21, 2011
1714 posts
453 upvotes