• May 16th, 2015 8:12 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Aug 12, 2009
319 posts
63 upvotes

Automatic car stalling during idle

I'm a car amateur and I just got passed down a SUV from an Aunt. The problem is this car stalls (engine stopping) during idle sometimes. That's incredibly dangerous especially I'm trying to turn at an intersection.

I tried googling the issue, but I'm unsure of the problem. According to my Aunt, they attempted contacting the car dealer in the past, but they couldn't find any problems.
19 replies
Banned
Sep 13, 2012
2673 posts
786 upvotes
Check the connections to the battery, they may be cutting out intermittently. Otherwise, I don't have much to add, not a grease monkey.
Aim to be a better man than you were, rather than best those around you.
-Uncredited
Oct 24, 2006
648 posts
77 upvotes
Toronto
My car did this because of a faulty mass air flow sensor. see if your make model is known for this. Also the crankshaft position sensor.
Deal Fanatic
Aug 27, 2014
7509 posts
3685 upvotes
Canuckland
Probably dirty injectors or fault MAS
Oct 27, 2013
948 posts
219 upvotes
Mississauga
lots of mechanics offer free diagnoses, RFD is no replacement for that
Deal Addict
Jan 13, 2012
1121 posts
50 upvotes
Sudbury
You'll have to go into much better detail.

Do you hear the transmission making loud noises before stalling?

Does the engine put-putt-putter then finally die?

Does it randomly just shut off?

Year/make/model of the SUV?

This is basic diagnostic skills needed to address the issue by yourself. If you're not sure, bring it to a mechanic that you trust (ask around with your friends) and pay the diagnostic fee.
Deal Addict
May 2, 2010
1646 posts
165 upvotes
Toronto
Does it stall you put it in neutral? It's possible this is just a simple problem of engine being out of tune - bad spark plugs, ignition coil, fuel delivery, etc. - which means you need proper diagnosis to identify the source of the problem. Stalling during idle alone is not enough.