• Jun 19th, 2019 2:08 pm
Tags:
Deal Addict
Oct 17, 2010
1174 posts
959 upvotes
Edmonton

Average mark up on new appliances?

I'm shopping for appliances for a new build and am wondering what the average markup on most appliances are? I'm in the Whirlpool budget range and from what I've read online it seems like there isn't a ton of markup on appliances in this range, maybe 20% or so. How accurate is this?

I'd be buying 7 major pieces, the current ask is around $9k before tax, delivery or installation.
3 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 22, 2017
3106 posts
4579 upvotes
West GTA
I'm not an expert in this, but when I bought my appliances I asked the salesperson about how the industry model works. The answer was a bit complex - shops get an appliance at wholesale prices, but they will also get incentives on things like volume, volume growth, accessory sales, etc that go into an equation and will spit out meaningful contributions to profit margins. This means that an individual appliance might not have a ton of profit baked in, but when you add in a contribution to various manufacturer incentives there might be more room.
Deal Addict
Oct 2, 2018
3167 posts
3653 upvotes
Toronto
Go to some of the appliance warehouse stores that specialize only in appliances, then pick your brands and models and tell them you want a quote for ALL seven appliances, You then get a quote from a couple of other appliance stores and the lowest price vendor who you feel comfortable with should be in the ballpark.