Tags:
None
[OP]
May 29, 2012
743 posts
40 upvotes
MAPLE RIDGE

From Bachelor of Science in Computer Science to Law School

Has anyone done this before or thought about it?
I'm strongly considering it because I don't know if I see myself in CS for the rest of my life... I hate coding, but I love almost everything else about computers.
However, I really want to become a lawyer... It's just something I really want to do. Not just for money sake, but the sake of being in that field as well.
Is Law a considerably better career to get into than something in CS that's not programming-related?

However, I'm in my 3rd year of University at UBC. My first year average was 88%, second 63%. I know I still have a chance to improve in my last 2 years for GPA entrance purposes, but in the worst case scenario I don't pull my average to 85+ (AND score well on the LSAT), what would I have to do?
I'm just not very hopeful because I've had some core Computer Science courses where I would study 5+ hours into certain ones daily and I hit a brick at 80%- that is, no matter how hard I try, I can't seem to pull myself above it. Plus, I just took an Algorithms course and I really thought I would at LEAST get 75%... I got only 50%... I don't even know what happened...

Would I really need to get another Bachelor's Degree just to fulfill the admission requirements (i.e. don't show them my first degree)?
Is all that lost time (and the oppertunity cost associated with those years of lost income) really worth it in the end?

I also realize that when I first graduate, I will have to spend at least a couple years climbing the social/career ladder before I get to somewhere I want to be. I'm on a student loan as well. For these 2 reasons, I'm feeling a strong sense of urgency.
33 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 18, 2006
1792 posts
35 upvotes
Unless you want to go to UofT, an 80% avg. is very competitive for law school.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 13, 2005
6831 posts
344 upvotes
Ottawa