Best Allocation for a Balanced Horizon ETF Portfolio

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 21st, 2018 8:31 pm
[OP]
Dec 29, 2017
2 posts
1 upvote

Best Allocation for a Balanced Horizon ETF Portfolio

I'm looking to create a diversified swap based portfolio for my company (non-registered) account using Horizons.

Using the following:
Canadian Index (TSX 60): HXT
US Index (S&P 500): HXS
International Index (MSCI EAFE): HXDM
Canadian Bond Index: HBB

What allocation of each would make it a balanced portfolio? 25% for each? I'm new to investing and just want a balanced ETF portfolio to keep my company money in, rather than having it in the bank.

Any input is appreciated, thanks.
Last edited by simplemonies on Feb 21st, 2018 5:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
50 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 23, 2010
1897 posts
929 upvotes
Moon
100% US stocks every time dude. Canada sucks and international sucks as well. By 'diversifying' internationally you are only lowering your return.
Jul 1, 2006
754 posts
584 upvotes
I think you have a good start there @simplemonies - there is definite simplicity in only having to deal with capital gains and never having to worry about ROC and other distributions causing confusion. A definite benefit of using Horizons in a non-registered account.

As far as allocations go, that is really a personal thing and will mostly affect how much you put into the bond portion. Bonds are generally there to smooth the ups and downs of the markets (and in the case of traditional bond ETFs, income). If you are going to freak out when your stock portions get cut in half, then you might want to lean towards a higher bond percentage. If you don't plan to sell for 20 years, then you could drop the bonds to 0%. It's really up to your goals and psychology. But once you pick your bond weighting, you could then pretty easily just allocate 1/3 of the remaining percentage to each of the others. Or if you want to follow a more established model you could look at what Vanguard has done: