• Last Updated:
  • Mar 14th, 2022 10:12 am
[OP]
Apr 21, 2008
399 posts
509 upvotes

Best Electric Mop / Hard Floor Cleaner

Hi RFD,

I use a traditional string mop and bucket for weekend cleanup. But with an active toddler, I find I have less time and more mess to manage.

Canadian Tire currently has a bunch of Bissel/Hoover products on sale and I want to ditch the mop and bucket.

What do you use to regularly clean your hard wood / tile floors? I really don’t want to use a Swiffer and Swiffer pads.

Thank you!
10 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 4, 2009
1656 posts
1055 upvotes
Windsor, ON area
I use a Vileda mop.
Like this one Amazon

It's awesome. I have like 10 mop heads and use 1 for the kitchen, 1 for the bathrooms, 2 for the upstairs and 2 for the downstairs. Just throw in the laundry when done.
Sep 28, 2003
717 posts
372 upvotes
I've been using a steam mop for several months and it's pretty good (https://www.amazon.ca/Smart-Living-Stea ... ast_sto_dp). I got it from Costco for about $100 though. It heats up fast and lifts dirt off the floor pretty well. The only place where it doesn't do so well are on my textured tiles. It's best on smooth floors and worst on anything with crevices. One fill of the water reservoir and you can mop about 500-600 sqft. You can see how dirty the pads get and you throw them in the washer when you're done. Pretty easy and it came with quite a few pads. There was also a carpet attachment that allows it to slide on carpet easily. The handle can be angled to make it easier to mop under things but I've never used it. You can also detach the handle and use it on your counters to sanitize them.

I wouldn't say this brand is an absolute buy but a steam mop in general has been pretty good.
[OP]
Apr 21, 2008
399 posts
509 upvotes
We have an old Steam Mop that left our floors really wet.

I think I’ve decided on the Bissel Spinwave (your link)