Shopping Discussion

Best place to order a laptop

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 31st, 2020 7:55 am
[OP]
Aug 28, 2020
2 posts

Best place to order a laptop

Unless something comes up to change my mind, I'm planning to buy a MSI GS66 while it's on sale this weekend for game development work. It's on sale at a bunch of different retailers for the exact same price. Which do you guys recommend for best customer service/returns/experience?

Normally I would shop around for warranty prices, but I just got burnt on warranty trough Lenovo and I'd rather just bring the machine to a mechanic now.
Also in the past I'd pop into Canada Computers down the street from my house, but they have really dropped the ball on many of my friends orders the last few years and I'm reluctant to trust them for something so expensive. I'm a teacher so I would love to find a place with a teachers discount, but maybe only Apple does that?

The net is also suggesting that I purchase the laptop through a reseller so I can get some thermal pasting done. I haven't been able to find anyone like this.

Place I've found this laptop currently on sale:
  • Memory Express
  • Staples - only fancier version available
  • NewEgg
  • Canada Computers - crooks with no return policy
  • Amazon.ca - on backorder
  • Walmart - online only
  • BestBuy - only a fancier version available
  • Surplus by design (I have never heard of them)
  • the Source - on backorder
[strike]Leaning towards the first three. Staples has the benefit of having stores in Toronto where I live, but if their general service is reflected by their printing kiosk that would be a headache. [/strike] Never mind, staples isn't carrying the one i'm looking for.
Thanks, wise internet people.

(edited to update with more research into what is available at each store.)
Last edited by ameinias on Aug 30th, 2020 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
5 replies
Deal Guru
Feb 7, 2017
14994 posts
12115 upvotes
Eastern Ontario