• Jul 8th, 2016 3:13 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Nov 13, 2012
26 posts
MONTREAL

Best route to get into IT

hello, everybody! i was wondering, in order to crack into the IT industry what would be the best route for me (i have a only a high school diploma). i was thinking a 3 year advance diploma program in computer systems technology(geroge brown) or a 2 year diploma in computer and network support(humber) or a 4 year info tech degree from york. im inclining towards the 2 or 3 year college programs so i can get started asap rather than go back and do high school courses to upgrade and apply. what would be better between the two 3 year or 2 year diploma? i will of course be getting certifications as well and specializing. im looking to earn at least $50,000 after 5-10 years in the biz.
33 replies
Dec 26, 2005
938 posts
349 upvotes
Ottawa
Myself, I've never even gotten a highschool diploma, and doing very well for myself within the industry. I did a 1 year intensive program (4 years of learning inside of ~10 months) which also included a co-op placement and it gave me a diploma. I then also had a friend(s) in the industry that were able to get me into a pretty decent job in network security. I moved up the chain, and switched jobs a few times, and I'm doing very well for myself.
This was 13 years ago though... It's a lot more competitive now than it was back then, and I also had IT experience previous to going back to school.
You can make a lot more money than you're looking for, depending what you go into, and how much hard work you put in. For High tech, the more people you know, the better. Ottawa or Toronto is where you want to be if you're trying to make it in IT.