• Last Updated:
  • Aug 23rd, 2021 9:22 am
[OP]
Nov 8, 2011
755 posts
481 upvotes
Etobicoke

Best Self-Directed Investing platform?

I am relatively new to investing (1 year in) and not a short term trader. My only experience is with CIBC’s platform and have not found it to be efficient. I was enticed by the lower transaction fee but beyond that it has been a hindrance.

TD seems to be a popular choice. Before I make the move to transfer my registered accounts and before I begin a non-registered account I wanted to understand what the experienced investors here would recommend and why.

My plan is to build my portfolio with 80% in a CPP style and 20% for more active investing.

Thanks in advance!
33 replies
Feb 27, 2011
221 posts
219 upvotes
We've used TD Direct for years, and have been broadly satisfied. The wait times for CS are terrible if you call their public tel #s, but are actually quite reasonable if you call through their app.

That said, the main reason we go started with TD Direct was the fact that (at the time) it was the only place self-directing investors could buy TD e-series mutual funds. That's no longer the case, so I'm not sure I would go with TD again, if I was only starting out now. Especially if you are planning on frequent trades, then one of the discount brokers would definitely be most cost effective than TD.
Deal Addict
Jun 8, 2004
2026 posts
1089 upvotes
Oakville
DToronto wrote: I am relatively new to investing (1 year in) and not a short term trader. My only experience is with CIBC’s platform and have not found it to be efficient. I was enticed by the lower transaction fee but beyond that it has been a hindrance.

TD seems to be a popular choice. Before I make the move to transfer my registered accounts and before I begin a non-registered account I wanted to understand what the experienced investors here would recommend and why.

My plan is to build my portfolio with 80% in a CPP style and 20% for more active investing.