• Jan 31st, 2023 1:21 pm
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Mar 21, 2013
5075 posts
8413 upvotes
Canada

Best software tool for doing your own corporate tax return

I've historically had an accountant for my pretty simple AB corporation that is just for realtor work. With gross sales of only $55k last year (was on pat leave for 8 months) and decreasing long term interest in selling real estate beyond family and friends, the company is becoming more of a vehicle to hold slightly less than $300k in Canadian blue chip eligible dividend stocks and flowing the dividends through to myself personally. My spouse will likely be off on disability for all of 2023 and beyond so I am considering doing my own corporate return this year. I have an MBA and at one time was considering getting an accounting designation because I aced my accounting courses, but I've forgotten a lot of it. I've always done our personal taxes myself as well.

I'm wondering what is the best tool or software for doing corporate returns? I use SimpleTax for personal and there is no corporate option. Doing my taxes myself should save me around $1200-$1500 this year.

Thanks
12 replies
Deal Fanatic
Oct 7, 2007
9277 posts
5105 upvotes
Turbotax for Incorporated Business is a good option. It is not cheap but if you know what you are doing it is cheaper than hiring a professional.
Nov 16, 2022
16 posts
21 upvotes
Toronto, ON
I have been using UFile T2 online and am very happy. What I did was - I had an accountant do my taxes for one year and then for that same year I entered all data into T2 myself. This way I learned what goes where. When my T2 was matching accountants' T2 I was ready to do my corporate taxes myself.
I use QuickBooks to track my income/expenses/balance sheets.
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Mar 21, 2013
5075 posts
8413 upvotes
Canada